You might have heard of vegetarian people, non-vegetarian people, even Tuesday-Thursday vegetarian people! But have you ever heard of Ovo-vegetarian people? This article will make you familiar with the term ‘ovo-vegetarian’.
So basically, an Ovo-vegetarian person is a person who does not eat meat or any other dairy product but does eat eggs. To keep it simple, an Ovo-vegetarian is a person who is a vegetarian who eats eggs but no dairy products like milk, butter, cheese etc.
Not many people follow the Ovo-vegetarian diet and that’s the reason that we do not come across such a term on a daily basis. Dairy products are not only essential for our body, they provide us a good amount of energy too. So basically, people follow the Ovo-vegetarian diet mostly because of health reasons. Health reasons include the intolerance towards lactose present in dairy products. Other reasons involve various religious beliefs that inhibit people from consuming dairy products.
Read Also – Here Are Some Foods You Should Never Freeze
What are the components of an Ovo-vegetarian diet?
An Ovo-vegetarian diet includes all fruits and vegetables, herbs, eggs, spices, all seeds, grains, beans, legumes, squashes, and other products that contain eggs.
What does Ovo-vegetarians avoid?
They avoid foods like Cheese, butter, ice cream, milk of all animals, cream cheese, sour cream, and all other dairy products.
An Ovo-vegetarian diet causes various nutritional deficiencies in the human body. It includes deficiency of various proteins, minerals, vitamins, iodine and fatty acids. Such deficiencies can lead to various diseases and so, when a person is on an Ovo-vegetarian diet, they should consult a dietitian to fulfill the requirement of these deficiencies.
So no matter which diet you follow, just make sure your basic nutritional requirements are being fulfilled, or else you will land yourself into trouble!
Stay Healthy Always!